top of page
Writer's pictureChristine

Fudgy Vegan Brownies

Updated: May 12, 2020

If I'm looking for something extra decadent, I automatically gravitate to brownies. Something about its crisp exterior and chewy interior with hidden puddles of chocolate just hits me perfectly. This Fudgy Vegan Brownies are sure to satisfy your chocolate cravings.


Ingredients

for 8-12 brownies

¾ cup brown sugar, lightly packed

½ cup white sugar

½ cup canola oil

¾ cup water

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

¾ cup, plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

½ cup cacao powder

½ teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon coffee grounds

½ teapoon salt

1 cup dark chocolate chunks

Flaky sea salt for garnish


Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Line baking pans with parchment paper, making sure you leave an overhang to easily lift the brownies out of of the pan once it's baked.

2. Whisk together brown sugar, white sugar, oil, water, and vanilla extract in a large bowl. Mix until sugar is incorporated and texture resembles maple syrup.

3. Add in flour, cacao powder, baking powder, and salt just until no visible flour pockets are found. Be careful not to overmix.

4. Mix in dark chocolate chunks into the batter, leaving some to top the brownies.

5. Transfer brownie batter into parchment paper-lined baking pans, and sprinkle remaining chocolate chunks on top.

6. Place in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

7. Grind flaky sea salt on the brownies. Let cool and serve.



I think my favorite part of this recipe is being able to eat the batter raw. The fudgy, melty, and chocolatey centers are incredibly decadent and highly addictive!



 

Notes

- Just like the Vegan Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe, you do have to whisk the sugars and liquids for quite a bit to incorporate air and increase in volume.

- I used two 3x6" pans since that's what I had available. Though the recipe can fit a 6x9" or 8x8" perfectly as well.

- I had to use chocolate chips in this photoshoot rather than my preferred chopped up chocolate bar chunks. Having a variety of sizes in the chunks gives it a more interesting look and you get shards of chocolate melt into your batter.

- I ran out of parchment paper, hence the unlined baking pans, which I highly discourage because my brownies cracked when I overturned it.

- For an extra fudgy center, take the brownies out of the oven at the 20-22 minute mark before the chocolate gets to set. Make sure to let cool to set the batter slightly.




275 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page